Oscar statuette ©AMPAS

1930-31 (4th Annual Awards)
Nominations by Film

Listed below are the films nominated for Academy Awards in 1930-31. Beneath each film are the categories for which the film was nominated. TheWinner marker symbol appears next to those categories it ultimately won. Click on the name of a film or person in the list to display more information about that film or person. Or, click on a year in the column on the right to display the nominations by film for that year.

Cimarron, RKO Radio.

Winner markerOutstanding Production.
Best Actor. Richard Dix.
Best Actress. Irene Dunne.
Directing. Wesley Ruggles.
Winner markerArt Direction. Max Ree.
Cinematography. Edward Cronjager.
Winner markerWriting (Adaptation). Howard Estabrook.

The Criminal Code, Columbia.

Writing (Adaptation). Seton I. Miller and Fred Niblo, Jr.

The Dawn Patrol, First National.

Winner markerWriting (Original Story). John Monk Saunders.

The Doorway to Hell, Warner Bros.

Writing (Original Story). Rowland Brown.

East Lynne, Fox.

Outstanding Production.

A Free Soul, Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer.

Winner markerBest Actor. Lionel Barrymore.
Best Actress. Norma Shearer.
Directing. Clarence Brown.

The Front Page, The Caddo Company; United Artists.

Outstanding Production.
Best Actor. Adolphe Menjou.
Directing. Lewis Milestone.

Holiday, Pathe.

Best Actress. Ann Harding.
Writing (Adaptation). Horace Jackson.

Just Imagine, Fox.

Art Direction. Stephen Goosson and Ralph Hammeras.

Laughter, Paramount Publix.

Writing (Original Story). Harry d’Abbadie d’Arrast, Douglas Doty and Donald Ogden Stewart.

Little Caesar, First National.

Writing (Adaptation). Francis Faragoh and Robert N. Lee.

Min and Bill, Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer.

Winner markerBest Actress. Marie Dressler.

Morocco, Paramount Publix.

Best Actress. Marlene Dietrich.
Directing. Josef Von Sternberg.
Art Direction. Hans Dreier.
Cinematography. Lee Garmes.

The Public Enemy, Warner Bros.

Writing (Original Story). John Bright and Kubec Glasmon.

The Right to Love, Paramount Publix.

Cinematography. Charles Lang.

The Royal Family of Broadway, Paramount Publix.

Best Actor. Fredric March.

Skippy, Paramount Publix.

Outstanding Production.
Best Actor. Jackie Cooper.
Winner markerDirecting. Norman Taurog.
Writing (Adaptation). Joseph L. Mankiewicz and Sam Mintz.

Smart Money, Warner Bros.

Writing (Original Story). Lucien Hubbard and Joseph Jackson.

Svengali, Warner Bros.

Art Direction. Anton Grot.
Cinematography. Barney “Chick” McGill.

Tabu, Paramount Publix.

Winner markerCinematography. Floyd Crosby.

Trader Horn, Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer.

Outstanding Production.

Whoopee!, Samuel Goldwyn Productions; United Artists.

Art Direction. Richard Day.