Oscar statuette ©AMPAS

1934 (7th Annual Awards)
Nominations by Film

Listed below are the films nominated for Academy Awards in 1934. Beneath each film are the categories for which the film was nominated. TheWinner marker symbol appears next to those categories it ultimately won. Click on the name of a film, person or song in the list to display more information about that film, person or song. Or, click on a year in the column on the right to display the nominations by film for that year.

The Affairs of Cellini, 20th Century; United Artists.

Best Actor. Frank Morgan.
Art Direction. Richard Day.
Cinematography. Charles Rosher.
Sound Recording. United Artists Studio Sound Department, Thomas T. Moulton, Sound Director.

The Barretts of Wimpole Street, Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer.

Outstanding Production.
Best Actress. Norma Shearer.

Bosom Friends, Skibo Productions; Educational-Fox. [Treasure Chest Series]

Short Subjects (Novelty).

City of Wax, Skibo Productions; Educational-Fox. [Battle for Life Series]

Winner markerShort Subjects (Novelty). Horace Woodard and Stacy Woodard, Producers.

Cleopatra, Paramount.

Outstanding Production.
Assistant Director. Cullen Tate.
Winner markerCinematography. Victor Milner.
Film Editing. Anne Bauchens.
Sound Recording. Paramount Studio Sound Department, Franklin B. Hansen, Sound Director.

Eskimo, Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer.

Winner markerFilm Editing. Conrad Nervig.

Flirtation Walk, First National.

Outstanding Production.
Sound Recording. Warner Bros.-First National Studio Sound Department, Nathan Levinson, Sound Director.

Flying Down to Rio, RKO Radio.

Music (Song). “Carioca”. Music by Vincent Youmans; lyrics by Edward Eliscu and Gus Kahn.

The Gay Divorcee, RKO Radio.

Outstanding Production.
Art Direction. Van Nest Polglase and Carroll Clark.
Music (Scoring). RKO Radio Studio Music Department, Max Steiner, head of department. (Score by Kenneth Webb and Samuel Hoffenstein)
Winner markerMusic (Song). “The Continental”. Music by Con Conrad; lyrics by Herb Magidson.
Sound Recording. RKO Radio Studio Sound Department, Carl Dreher, Sound Director.

Here Comes the Navy, Warner Bros.

Outstanding Production.

Hide-Out, Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer.

Writing (Original Story). Mauri Grashin.

Holiday Land, Screen Gems; Columbia. [Color Rhapsody Series]

Short Subjects (Cartoons). Charles Mintz, Producer.

The House of Rothschild, 20th Century; United Artists.

Outstanding Production.

Imitation of Life, Universal.

Outstanding Production.
Assistant Director. Scott Beal.
Sound Recording. Universal Studio Sound Department, Theodore Soderberg, Sound Director.

It Happened One Night, Columbia.

Winner markerOutstanding Production.
Winner markerBest Actor. Clark Gable.
Winner markerBest Actress. Claudette Colbert.
Winner markerDirecting. Frank Capra.
Winner markerWriting (Adaptation). Robert Riskin.

Jolly Little Elves, Walter Lantz Productions; Universal. [Cartune Classic Series]

Short Subjects (Cartoons). Walter Lantz, Producer.

La Cucaracha, Pioneer Pictures; RKO Radio. [Special Series]

Winner markerShort Subjects (Comedy). Kenneth Macgowan, Producer.

The Lost Patrol, RKO Radio.

Music (Scoring). RKO Radio Studio Music Department, Max Steiner, head of department. (Score by Max Steiner)

Manhattan Melodrama, Cosmopolitan; Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer.

Winner markerWriting (Original Story). Arthur Caesar.

Men in Black, Jules White; Columbia. [The Three Stooges Series]

Short Subjects (Comedy). Jules White, Producer.

The Merry Widow, Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer.

Winner markerArt Direction. Cedric Gibbons and Frederic Hope.

Of Human Bondage, RKO Radio.

Best Actress. Bette Davis.

One Night of Love, Columbia.

Outstanding Production.
Best Actress. Grace Moore.
Directing. Victor Schertzinger.
Film Editing. Gene Milford.
Winner markerMusic (Scoring). Columbia Studio Music Department, Louis Silvers, head of department. (Thematic music by Victor Schertzinger and Gus Kahn)
Winner markerSound Recording. Columbia Studio Sound Department, John Livadary, Sound Director.
Winner markerScientific or Technical Award (Class III).

Operator 13, Cosmopolitan; Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer.

Cinematography. George Folsey.

The Richest Girl in the World, RKO Radio.

Writing (Original Story). Norman Krasna.

She Loves Me Not, Paramount.

Music (Song). “Love in Bloom”. Music by Ralph Rainger; lyrics by Leo Robin.

Strikes and Spares, Pete Smith; Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer. [Oddities Series]

Short Subjects (Novelty). Pete Smith, Producer.

The Thin Man, Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer.

Outstanding Production.
Best Actor. William Powell.
Directing. W. S. Van Dyke.
Writing (Adaptation). Frances Goodrich and Albert Hackett.

The Tortoise and the Hare, Walt Disney Productions; United Artists. [Silly Symphony Series]

Winner markerShort Subjects (Cartoons). Walt Disney, Producer.

Viva Villa!, Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer.

Outstanding Production.
Winner markerAssistant Director. John Waters.
Sound Recording. Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer Studio Sound Department, Douglas Shearer, Sound Director.
Writing (Adaptation). Ben Hecht.

What, No Men!, Warner Bros. [Broadway Brevities Series]

Short Subjects (Comedy).

The White Parade, Jesse L. Lasky; Fox.

Outstanding Production.
Sound Recording. Fox Studio Sound Department, E. H. Hansen, Sound Director.