Oscar statuette ©AMPAS

1930-31 (4th Annual Awards)
Nominations and Winners

Listed below are the Academy Award nominations and winners for the year 1930-31. TheWinner marker symbol appears next to the winner in each category. Click on the name of a film or person in the list to display more information about that film or person. Or, click on a year in the column on the right to display the nominations and winners from that year.

Outstanding Production

Winner markerCimarron, RKO Radio.
East Lynne, Fox.
The Front Page, The Caddo Company; United Artists.
Skippy, Paramount Publix.
Trader Horn, Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer.

Best Actor

Winner markerLionel Barrymore in A Free Soul, Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer.
Jackie Cooper in Skippy, Paramount Publix.
Richard Dix in Cimarron, RKO Radio.
Fredric March in The Royal Family of Broadway, Paramount Publix.
Adolphe Menjou in The Front Page, The Caddo Company; United Artists.

Best Actress

Marlene Dietrich in Morocco, Paramount Publix.
Winner markerMarie Dressler in Min and Bill, Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer.
Irene Dunne in Cimarron, RKO Radio.
Ann Harding in Holiday, Pathe.
Norma Shearer in A Free Soul, Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer.


Cimarron, RKO Radio. Wesley Ruggles.
A Free Soul, Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer. Clarence Brown.
The Front Page, The Caddo Company; United Artists. Lewis Milestone.
Morocco, Paramount Publix. Josef Von Sternberg.
Winner markerSkippy, Paramount Publix. Norman Taurog.

Art Direction

Winner markerCimarron, RKO Radio. Max Ree.
Just Imagine, Fox. Stephen Goosson and Ralph Hammeras.
Morocco, Paramount Publix. Hans Dreier.
Svengali, Warner Bros. Anton Grot.
Whoopee!, Samuel Goldwyn Productions; United Artists. Richard Day.


Cimarron, RKO Radio. Edward Cronjager.
Morocco, Paramount Publix. Lee Garmes.
The Right to Love, Paramount Publix. Charles Lang.
Svengali, Warner Bros. Barney “Chick” McGill.
Winner markerTabu, Paramount Publix. Floyd Crosby.

Sound Recording

Samuel Goldwyn-United Artists Studio Sound Department
Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer Studio Sound Department
Winner markerParamount Publix Studio Sound Department
RKO Radio Studio Sound Department



Winner markerCimarron, RKO Radio. Howard Estabrook.
The Criminal Code, Columbia. Seton I. Miller and Fred Niblo, Jr.
Holiday, Pathe. Horace Jackson.
Little Caesar, First National. Francis Faragoh and Robert N. Lee.
Skippy, Paramount Publix. Joseph L. Mankiewicz and Sam Mintz.

(Original Story)

Winner markerThe Dawn Patrol, First National. John Monk Saunders.
The Doorway to Hell, Warner Bros. Rowland Brown.
Laughter, Paramount Publix. Harry d’Abbadie d’Arrast, Douglas Doty and Donald Ogden Stewart.
The Public Enemy, Warner Bros. John Bright and Kubec Glasmon.
Smart Money, Warner Bros. Lucien Hubbard and Joseph Jackson.

Scientific or Technical Award

(Class I)

Winner markerTo Electrical Research Products, Inc., RCA-Photophone, Inc., and RKO Radio Pictures, Inc., for noise reduction recording equipment.
Winner markerTo DuPont Manufacturing Corp. and Eastman Kodak Company for super-sensitive panchromatic film.

(Class II)

Winner markerTo Fox Film Corp. for effective use of synchro-projection composite photography.

(Class III)

Winner markerTo Electrical Research Products, Inc., for moving coil microphone transmitters.
Winner markerTo RKO Radio Pictures, Inc. for reflex type microphone concentrators.
Winner markerTo RCA-Photophone, Inc. for ribbon microphone transmitters.
NOTE: The Scientific and Technical Awards (Class I, II and III) were new categories in 1930-31.