National Film Preservation Board logo

1998 (10th Year)
National Film Registry

The National Film Preservation Board was founded by the Library of Congress in 1988. Each year the Board selects up to 25 films which are considered to be culturally, historically or aesthetically important. Films must be at least 10 years old to be eligible for the registry. Listed below are the films inducted into the National Film Registry in 1998.

TheOscar Nominated marker symbol appears next to those films which also received an Academy Award nomination (although this is not a requirement for induction). Click on the name of one of those films to display more information about it. You can also click on the  IMDb  link to to open a new browser window showing information about the film from the Internet Movie Database. Or, click on a year in the column on the right to display the National Film Registry inductees for that year.

Oscar Nominated markerBride of Frankenstein (1935)   IMDb
The City (1939) [documentary]   IMDb
Dead Birds (1965) [documentary]   IMDb
Dont Look Back (1967) [documentary]   IMDb
Oscar Nominated markerEasy Rider (1969)   IMDb
Oscar Nominated marker42nd Street (1933)   IMDb
From the Manger to the Cross (1912)   IMDb
Gun Crazy (1950)   IMDb
The Hitch-Hiker (1953)   IMDb
The Immigrant (1917) [short]   IMDb
Oscar Nominated markerThe Last Picture Show (1971)   IMDb
Little Miss Marker (1934)   IMDb
The Lost World (1925)   IMDb
Modesta (1956) [short]   IMDb
Oscar Nominated markerThe Ox-Bow Incident (1943)   IMDb
Pass the Gravy (1928) [short]   IMDb
The Phantom of the Opera (1925)   IMDb
Powers of Ten (1977) [documentary short]   IMDb
Oscar Nominated markerThe Public Enemy (1931)   IMDb
Sky High (1922)   IMDb
Steamboat Willie (1928) [animated short]   IMDb
Tacoma Narrows Bridge Collapse (1940) [documentary short]   IMDb
Oscar Nominated markerTootsie (1982)   IMDb
Oscar Nominated markerTwelve O’Clock High (1949)   IMDb
Westinghouse Works (1904) [short]   IMDb