National Film Preservation Board logo

1991 (3rd Year)
National Film Registry

The National Film Preservation Board was founded by the Library of Congress in 1988. Each year the Board selects up to 25 films which are considered to be culturally, historically or aesthetically important. Films must be at least 10 years old to be eligible for the registry. Listed below are the films inducted into the National Film Registry in 1991.

TheOscar Nominated marker symbol appears next to those films which also received an Academy Award nomination (although this is not a requirement for induction). Click on the name of one of those films to display more information about it. You can also click on the  IMDb  link to to open a new browser window showing information about the film from the Internet Movie Database. Or, click on a year in the column on the right to display the National Film Registry inductees for that year.

The Blood of Jesus (1941)   IMDb
Oscar Nominated markerChinatown (1974)   IMDb
City Lights (1931)   IMDb
David Holzman’s Diary (1967)   IMDb
Frankenstein (1931)   IMDb
Gertie the Dinosaur (1914) [animated short]   IMDb
Oscar Nominated markerGigi (1958)   IMDb
Greed (1924)   IMDb
High School (1968) [documentary]   IMDb
Oscar Nominated markerI Am a Fugitive from a Chain Gang (1932)   IMDb
The Italian (1915)   IMDb
King Kong (1933)   IMDb
Oscar Nominated markerLawrence of Arabia (1962)   IMDb
Oscar Nominated markerThe Magnificent Ambersons (1942)   IMDb
My Darling Clementine (1946)   IMDb
Out of the Past (1947)   IMDb
Oscar Nominated markerA Place in the Sun (1951)   IMDb
The Poor Little Rich Girl (1917)   IMDb
Oscar Nominated markerThe Prisoner of Zenda (1937)   IMDb
San Pietro (1945) [documentary short]   IMDb
Oscar Nominated markerShadow of a Doubt (1943)   IMDb
Sherlock Jr. (1924)   IMDb
Tevya (1939)   IMDb
Trouble in Paradise (1932)   IMDb
Oscar Nominated marker2001: A Space Odyssey (1968)   IMDb