National Film Preservation Board logo

1993 (5th Year)
National Film Registry

The National Film Preservation Board was founded by the Library of Congress in 1988. Each year the Board selects up to 25 films which are considered to be culturally, historically or aesthetically important. Films must be at least 10 years old to be eligible for the registry. Listed below are the films inducted into the National Film Registry in 1993.

TheOscar Nominated marker symbol appears next to those films which also received an Academy Award nomination (although this is not a requirement for induction). Click on the name of one of those films to display more information about it. You can also click on the  IMDb  link to to open a new browser window showing information about the film from the Internet Movie Database. Or, click on a year in the column on the right to display the National Film Registry inductees for that year.

Oscar Nominated markerAn American in Paris (1951)   IMDb
Badlands (1973)   IMDb
The Black Pirate (1926)   IMDb
Oscar Nominated markerBlade Runner (1982)   IMDb
Cat People (1942)   IMDb
The Cheat (1915)   IMDb
Chulas Fronteras (1976) [documentary]   IMDb
Eaux d’artifice (1953) [short]   IMDb
Oscar Nominated markerThe Godfather: Part II (1974)   IMDb
His Girl Friday (1940)   IMDb
Inside Nazi Germany (1938) [documentary short]   IMDb
Oscar Nominated markerIt Happened One Night (1934)   IMDb
Oscar Nominated markerLassie Come Home (1943)   IMDb
Magical Maestro (1952) [animated short]   IMDb
A Night at the Opera (1935)   IMDb
Nothing but a Man (1964)   IMDb
Oscar Nominated markerOne Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest (1975)   IMDb
Point of Order (1964) [documentary]   IMDb
Shadows (1959)   IMDb
Oscar Nominated markerShane (1953)   IMDb
Sweet Smell of Success (1957)   IMDb
Touch of Evil (1958)   IMDb
Where Are My Children? (1916)   IMDb
The Wind (1928)   IMDb
Oscar Nominated markerYankee Doodle Dandy (1942)   IMDb