National Film Preservation Board logo

2004 (16th Year)
National Film Registry

The National Film Preservation Board was founded by the Library of Congress in 1988. Each year the Board selects up to 25 films which are considered to be culturally, historically or aesthetically important. Films must be at least 10 years old to be eligible for the registry. Listed below are the films inducted into the National Film Registry in 2004.

TheOscar Nominated marker symbol appears next to those films which also received an Academy Award nomination (although this is not a requirement for induction). Click on the name of one of those films to display more information about it. You can also click on the  IMDb  link to to open a new browser window showing information about the film from the Internet Movie Database. Or, click on a year in the column on the right to display the National Film Registry inductees for that year.

Oscar Nominated markerBen-Hur (1959)   IMDb
The Blue Bird (1918)   IMDb
A Bronx Morning (1931) [short]   IMDb
Clash of the Wolves (1925)   IMDb
The Court Jester (1955)   IMDb
D.O.A. (1950)   IMDb
Daughters of the Dust (1991)   IMDb
Duck and Cover (1952) [animated short]   IMDb
Empire (1964) [documentary]   IMDb
Enter the Dragon (1973)   IMDb
Eraserhead (1977)   IMDb
Garlic Is As Good As Ten Mothers (1980) [documentary]   IMDb
Oscar Nominated markerGoing My Way (1944)   IMDb
Jailhouse Rock (1957)   IMDb
Kannapolis, N.C. (1941) [documentary]   IMDb
Lady Helen’s Escapade (1909) [short]   IMDb
The Nutty Professor (1963)   IMDb
OffOn (1972) [short]   IMDb
Popeye the Sailor Meets Sindbad the Sailor (1936) [animated short]   IMDb
Pups Is Pups (1930) [short]   IMDb
Oscar Nominated markerSchindler’s List (1993)   IMDb
Oscar Nominated markerSeven Brides for Seven Brothers (1954)   IMDb
Oscar Nominated markerSwing Time (1936)   IMDb
There It Is (1928) [short]   IMDb
Oscar Nominated markerUnforgiven (1992)   IMDb