National Film Preservation Board logo

1994 (6th Year)
National Film Registry

The National Film Preservation Board was founded by the Library of Congress in 1988. Each year the Board selects up to 25 films which are considered to be culturally, historically or aesthetically important. Films must be at least 10 years old to be eligible for the registry. Listed below are the films inducted into the National Film Registry in 1994.

TheOscar Nominated marker symbol appears next to those films which also received an Academy Award nomination (although this is not a requirement for induction). Click on the name of one of those films to display more information about it. You can also click on the  IMDb  link to to open a new browser window showing information about the film from the Internet Movie Database. Or, click on a year in the column on the right to display the National Film Registry inductees for that year.

Oscar Nominated markerThe African Queen (1951)   IMDb
Oscar Nominated markerThe Apartment (1960)   IMDb
The Cool World (1964)   IMDb
A Corner in Wheat (1909) [short]   IMDb
Oscar Nominated markerE.T.: The Extra-Terrestrial (1982)   IMDb
The Exploits of Elaine (1914) [short]   IMDb
Force of Evil (1948)   IMDb
Freaks (1932)   IMDb
Hell’s Hinges (1916)   IMDb
Hospital (1970) [documentary]   IMDb
Invasion of the Body Snatchers (1956)   IMDb
Oscar Nominated markerThe Lady Eve (1941)   IMDb
Oscar Nominated markerLouisiana Story (1948) [documentary]   IMDb
Oscar Nominated markerThe Manchurian Candidate (1962)   IMDb
Oscar Nominated markerMarty (1955)   IMDb
Oscar Nominated markerMeet Me in St. Louis (1944)   IMDb
Oscar Nominated markerMidnight Cowboy (1969)   IMDb
A Movie (1958) [short]   IMDb
Oscar Nominated markerPinocchio (1940)   IMDb
Safety Last! (1923)   IMDb
Scarface (1932)   IMDb
Snow-White (1933) [animated short]   IMDb
Oscar Nominated markerTabu: A Story of the South Seas (1931)   IMDb
Oscar Nominated markerTaxi Driver (1976)   IMDb
Zapruder Film of Kennedy Assassination (1963) [documentary short]   IMDb